Tél France : 05 49 52 45 39

Sultanate of Oman

Culture and modernity

  • General

    The Sultanate of Oman on the Arabian Peninsula is rich in a most magnificent and varied natural environment. The relief of the Hajjar mountains is carved out by sublime wadis (rivers flowing in canyons). Its coastline faces the Indian Ocean, with a peninsula to the north, the Musandam, "the fjords of Arabia". It is the country of the desert: the Wahiba, located in the east, and the Rub Al Khali, one of the largest deserts in the world.

    - Head of state : His Majesty Sultan Haitham Bin Tariq
    - Capital : Muscat
    - Area : 309,500 km
    - Religion : Islam
    - Arabic is the official language
    - Currency : Omani rial (OMR) (1 Omr = approximately 2,40€)
  • Geography

    The Sultanate of Oman, located in the southwest of the Arabian Peninsula.

    Divided into 6 distinct geographical regions, the Sultanate of Oman extends from the Strait of Hormuz in the north to the southern border with Yemen in the Dhofar region. On the sea side, Oman is bordered by the Arabian Sea and the Arabian Sea.

    On the land side, Oman faces the empty quarter of Saudi Arabia. The climate is typically hot and dry; summer begins in April and lasts until October, with temperatures reaching 53 degrees Celsius in the interior of Oman. The Dhofar region, however, receives more rainfall due to the monsoon season between June and September.
    The coastal plain is fertile alluvial soil, well watered by the southwest monsoon. Forested mountain ranges, rising to about 1,500 metres, form a crescent behind a long, narrow coastal plain, on which the provincial capital of Salalah is located. Behind the mountains, gravel plains gradually merge northwards into the Rub al-Khali.

  • Climate & Flora

    The climate is hot and dry inland and hot and humid along the coast. Summer temperatures in the capital Muscat and other coastal areas often rise to 43°, with high humidity; winters are mild, with lows around 17°.

    Temperatures are similar in the interior, although they are more moderate at higher altitudes. Dhofar is dominated by the summer monsoon, making Salaah's climate more temperate than that of northern Oman. Rainfall throughout the country is minimal, averaging only 100 mm per year, although rainfall in the mountains is higher.

    Due to the low rainfall, vegetation is sparse, except where there is irrigation, which is provided by an ancient system of water channels known as aflaj (singular : falaj ). The canals are often underground and originate in wells near the bases of the mountains.
    Acacia trees form most of the little natural vegetation that exists and the soil is extremely rocky; plant species are protected in nature reserves. The government also protects rare animal species, such as the Arabian oryx, Arabian leopard, mountain goat and loggerhead turtle. Oman's birdlife is extraordinarily diverse and includes species such as the glossy ibis, Egyptian vulture, Barbary falcon and Socotra cormorant.

  • Culture

    Cultural life.

    Oman is a tribal society, although tribal influence is gradually diminishing. Its predominantly Muslim ibaḍi population observes social customs that, while still conservative by Western standards, are considerably less strict than those in neighbouring Saudi Arabia. Women in particular have enjoyed relatively more freedom in Oman than elsewhere in the Arabian Peninsula.

    Mealtime is the focus of most social gatherings. The typical Omani meal consists of rice, spiced lamb or fish, dates and coffee or tea. Incense, especially frankincense, is burnt at the end of the meal.

    Omani craftsmen are renowned for woodcarving, weaving, pottery, goldsmithing and the making of daggers and swords. Their handicrafts are among the many items that can be found in the souk, or market, of Muscat, a thriving centre of folk culture. The Ministry of National Heritage and Culture is responsible for preserving historic buildings, excavating archaeological sites and supporting traditional crafts such as weaving and silver and gold jewellery making. It also promotes Omani literature and has printed an encyclopedia of Omani heritage.

    The Museum of Oman (founded in 1974), located outside Muscat, is the country's main cultural repository; it tells the history of the country and includes exhibitions on Islam. The history of the Omani military is the focus of the Armed Forces Museum (1988). Other institutions include the National Museum (1978), the Natural History Museum (1983), the Children's Museum (1990) and Bait Nadir, a converted 18th-century residence that now houses Omani art and traditional artifacts, including jewellery, silverware, pottery and woodcarvings. The Royal Oman Symphony Orchestra was formed in the late 1980s and has performed with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra; it is one of the few national orchestras in the Middle East.

  • Society

    Oman is governed by a monarchy (sultanate) with two advisory bodies. The sultan is the head of state, and, although he also acts as the prime minister, he may appoint one if he chooses. The sultan is assisted by a Council of Ministers (Majlis al-Wuzara), the members of which he typically appoints from among Muscat merchants, informal representatives of interior tribes, and Dhofaris.

    The Consultative Assembly, formed by the sultan in 1981, was replaced in 1991 by a Consultative Council (Majlis al-Shura), members of which were at first appointed and later elected from several dozen districts (wilayat); women from a few constituencies were given the right to serve on the council. In 1996 the sultan announced the establishment of the Basic Law of the State, the country’s first written constitution, which outlined a new system of government that included a bicameral legislature, the Council of Oman. In addition, it clarified the succession process and extended the right to serve to all Omani women. The Council of Oman consists of the Consultative Council as its lower chamber and, as the upper chamber, a new Council of State (Majlis al-Dawlah).

    More than half of Oman’s population is Arab. However, large numbers of ethnic Baloch-who migrated to Oman from Iran and Pakistan over the past several centuries-live near the coast in Al-Baṭinah. The Muscat-Maṭraḥ urban area has long been home to significant numbers of ethnic Persians and to merchants of South Asian ancestry, some of whom also live along Al-Baṭinah. Notable among the latter are the Liwatiyyah, who originally came from Sindh (now in Pakistan) but have lived in Oman for centuries.

    Several large Arab groups predominate along the coastal plain of Dhofar. The mountain dwellers of Dhofar are known as jibalis , or "mountain people". They are ethnically distinct from the coastal Arabs and are considered descendants of the highlanders of Yemen .

    The population of Oman is primarily urban (84.5%) but has a number of traditional rural settlements(15.5%). These are typically located near the foothills of the Ḥajar Mountains, where the aflaj provide irrigation. In addition to small villages, a number of sizable towns, including Nizwā, Bahla, Izki, and Ibri, are found on the inland, or southwestern, side of the Western Ḥajar. Approximately one-fourth of the population lives in Al-Baṭinah. Al-Rustaq, Awabi, and Nakhl are principal settlements on Al-Baṭinah’s side of the Western Ḥajar.

    Oman has one of the highest birth rates among the Persian Gulf states; this birth rate—combined with a relatively low death rate—has given the country a rate of natural increase that well exceeds the world average. Life expectancy averages about 75 years.

    Oman is a rural and agricultural country, and fishing and foreign trade are important to coastal populations. Oil revenues account for about three quarters of government income.
    In anticipation of the eventual depletion of oil reserves, the government in 1996 initiated a plan for the post-oil era that focused on developing the country’s natural gas resources to fuel domestic industry and for export in the form of liquefied natural gas (LNG).

Tél. France 05 49 52 45 39

Sultanat d'Oman

Culture et modernité

  • Généralités

    Le Sultanat d'Oman de la péninsule arabique est riche d'un environnement naturel des plus magnifique et très varié. Les reliefs des montagnes du Hajjar creusée de sublimes wadis (rivières coulant dans des canyons). Sa côte est tourné vers l'océan Indien, avec une péninsule tout au nord, le Musandam, "les fjords d'Arabie". C’est le pays du désert : le Wahiba, situé à l'est, et le Rub Al Khali, l'un des plus grands désert du monde.

    - Dirigeant : Sa Majesté le Sultan Haitham Bin Tariq
    - Capitale : Mascate
    - Superficie : 309.500 km
    - Religion : Islam
    - L'arabe est la langue officielle
    - Monnaie : Rial omanais (OMR) (1 Omr = environ 2,40€)
  • Géographie

    Le sultanat d'Oman, situé au sud-ouest de la péninsule arabique.

    Divisé en 6 régions géographiques distinctes, le Sultanat d'Oman s'étend du détroit d'Ormuz au nord jusqu'à la frontière sud avec le Yémen dans la région de Dhofar. Du côté de la mer, l'Oman est bordé par la mer d'Oman et la mer d'Oman.

    Du côté terrestre, Oman fait face au quartier vide de l'Arabie saoudite. Le climat est typiquement chaud et sec ; l'été commence en avril et dure jusqu'en octobre, avec des températures atteignant 53 degrés Celsius dans l'intérieur d'Oman. La région de Dhofar, cependant, reçoit des précipitations plus importantes en raison de la saison des moussons entre juin et septembre.
    La plaine côtière est un sol alluvial fertile, bien arrosé par la mousson du sud-ouest. Des chaînes de montagnes boisées, culminant à environ 1 500 mètres, y forment un croissant derrière une longue et étroite plaine côtière, sur laquelle se trouve la capitale provinciale de Salālah . Derrière les montagnes, des plaines de gravier se fondent progressivement vers le nord dans le Rub al-Khali.

  • Climat & flore

    Le climat est chaud et sec à l'intérieur et chaud et humide le long de la côte. Les températures estivales dans la capitale Mascate et dans d'autres régions côtières grimpent souvent jusqu'à 43 °, avec une humidité élevée ; les hivers sont doux, avec des minimums d'environ 17 °.

    Les températures sont similaires à l'intérieur, bien qu'elles soient plus modérées à des altitudes plus élevées. Le Dhofar est dominé par la mousson d'été, ce qui rend le climat de Salalah plus tempéré que celui du nord d'Oman. Les précipitations dans tout le pays sont minimes, n'atteignant en moyenne que 100 mm par an, bien que les précipitations dans les montagnes soient plus abondantes.

    En raison des faibles précipitations, la végétation est clairsemée, sauf là où il y a l'irrigation, qui est fournie par un ancien système de canaux d'eau connu sous le nom aflāj (singulier :falaj ). Les canaux sont souvent souterrains et prennent naissance dans des puits situés près des bases des montagnes.
    Les acacias forment la majeure partie du peu de végétation naturelle qui existe et le sol est extrêmement rocheux ; les espèces végétales sont protégées dans des réserves naturelles. Le gouvernement protège également les espèces animales rares, telles que l'oryx d'Arabie, le léopard d' Arabie , la chèvre de montagne et la tortue caouanne. L'avifaune d'Oman est extraordinairement diversifiée et comprend des espèces telles que l'ibis brillant, le vautour percnoptère, le faucon de Barbarie et le cormoran de Socotra

  • Culture

    Une vie culturelle.

    Oman est une société tribale, bien que l'influence tribale diminue progressivement. Sa population majoritairement musulmane ibaḍi observe des coutumes sociales qui, bien que toujours conservatrices selon les normes occidentales, sont nettement moins strictes que celles de l' Arabie saoudite voisine. Les femmes en particulier ont joui de relativement plus de liberté à Oman qu'ailleurs dans la péninsule arabique.

    L'heure des repas est le centre de la plupart des rassemblements sociaux. Le repas typique omanais se compose de riz, d'agneau ou de poisson épicé, de dattes et de café ou de thé. L' encens , notamment l' encens , originaire d'Oman, est brûlé à la fin du repas.

    Les artisans omanais sont réputés pour la sculpture sur bois, le tissage, la poterie, l'orfèvrerie et la fabrication de poignards et d'épées. Leurs objets artisanaux font partie des nombreux objets que l'on peut trouver au souk, ou marché , de Mascate , un centre florissant de la culture populaire . Le ministère du Patrimoine national et de la Culture est chargé de préserver les bâtiments historiques, de fouiller les sites archéologiques et de soutenir l'artisanat traditionnel comme le tissage et la fabrication de bijoux en argent et en or. Il promeut également la littérature omanaise et a imprimé une encyclopédie du patrimoine omanais.

    Le musée d'Oman (fondé en 1974), situé à l'extérieur de Mascate, est le principal dépôt culturel du pays ; il relate l'histoire du pays et comprend des expositions sur l' islam . L'histoire de l'armée omanaise est au centre du Musée des Forces armées (1988). D'autres institutions incluent le Musée national (1978), le Musée d'histoire naturelle (1983), le Musée des enfants (1990) et Bait Nadir, une résidence du XVIIIe siècle reconvertie qui abrite aujourd'hui de l'art omanais et des objets traditionnels, notamment des bijoux, de l'argenterie, de la poterie et sculptures sur bois. Le Royal Oman Symphony Orchestra a été formé à la fin des années 1980 et s'est produit avec le BBC Philharmonic Orchestra ; c'est l'un des rares orchestres nationaux du Moyen-Orient .

  • Société

    Oman est gouverné par une monarchie (sultanat) avec deux organes consultatifs. Le sultan est le chef de l'État et, bien qu'il agisse également en tant que premier ministre, il peut en nommer un s'il le souhaite. Le sultan est assisté d'un Conseil des ministres (Majlis al-Wuzara), dont il nomme généralement les membres parmi les marchands de Mascate, les représentants informels des tribus de l'intérieur et les Dhofaris.

    L'Assemblée Consultative, formée par le sultan en 1981, a été remplacée en 1991 par un Conseil consultatif (Majlis al-Shura), dont les membres ont d'abord été nommés puis élus dans plusieurs dizaines de districts (wilayat) ; les femmes de quelques circonscriptions ont obtenu le droit de siéger au conseil. En 1996, le sultan a annoncé la mise en place de la Loi fondamentale de l'État, la première constitution écrite du pays, qui a défini un nouveau système de gouvernement qui comprenait une législature bicamérale, le Conseil d'Oman. En outre, il a clarifié le processus de succession et étendu le droit de servir à toutes les femmes omanaises. Le Conseil d'Oman se compose du Conseil consultatif comme chambre basse et, comme chambre haute, d'un nouveau Conseil d'État (Majlis al-Dawlah).

    Plus de la moitié de la population d'Oman est arabe . Cependant, un grand nombre d'ethnies, les Baloutches, qui ont émigré à Oman depuis l' Iran et le Pakistan au cours des derniers siècles, vivent près de la côte à Al-Baṭinah. La zone urbaine de Mascate-Maṭraḥ a longtemps abrité un nombre important de Perses ethniques et de marchands d'ascendance sud-asiatique, dont certains vivent également le long d'Al-Baṭinah. Parmi ces derniers, on peut citer les Liwatiyyah, originaires du Sindh (maintenant au Pakistan) mais vivant à Oman depuis des siècles.

    Plusieurs grands groupes arabes prédominent le long de la plaine côtière du Dhofar. Les habitants des montagnes du Dhofar sont connus sous le nom de jibalis, ou « gens des montagnes ». Ils sont ethniquement distincts des Arabes côtiers et sont considérés comme les descendants des habitants des hauts plateaux du Yémen.

    La population d'Oman est principalement urbaine (84.5%), mais compte un certain nombre de zones rurales traditionnelles (15.5%). Celles-ci sont généralement situées près des contreforts des montagnes Ḥajar, où les aflaj assurent l'irrigation. En plus des petits villages, un certain nombre de villes importantes, dont Nizw, Bahla, Izkī et Ibri, se trouvent à l'intérieur ou au sud-ouest du Hajar occidental. Environ un quart de la population vit à Al-Baṭinah. Al-Rustaq, Awabi et Nakhl sont les principales colonies du côté d'Al-Baṭinah du Hajar occidental.

    Oman a l'un des taux de natalité les plus élevés parmi les États du golfe Persique ; ce taux de natalité, combiné à un taux de mortalité relativement faible, a donné au pays un taux d'accroissement naturel bien supérieur à la moyenne mondiale. L'espérance de vie est en moyenne d'environ 75 ans.

    Oman est un pays rural et agricole, et la pêche et le commerce extérieur sont importants pour les populations côtières. Les revenus pétroliers représentent environ trois quarts des revenus du gouvernement.
    En prévision de l'épuisement des réserves pétrolières, le gouvernement a lancé en 1996 un plan pour l'ère post-pétrolière axé sur le développement des ressources en gaz naturel du pays pour alimenter l'industrie nationale et pour l'exportation sous forme de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL).